Jeongheon Nam

Jeongheon Nam was born in Incheon (South Korea) in 1993 and began playing the cello at the age of six. His musical education started as a junior student at the School of Music under St. Petersburg Rimsky-Korsakov Conservatory Russia with Professor Elena Dernova.

After returning back to Korea, he studied at the Korea National University of Arts, under Myung-wha Chung and Hyoung won Chang. As a soloist, he has performed with National Philharmonic Russia, Incheon Philharmonic Orchestra, Vivaldi Chamber Orchestra, 21century Baroque. He has been a performer at the Great Mountains Music Festival, Stravinsky International Festival Cellista Cello Ensemble, Knua Cello Series, Heiri Camerata, Cello project Bach&Beethoven series, Nostalgia concert, and Baroque Concerto Series.

He has taken part in masterclasses with Frans Helmerson, Louis Claret, Arto Noras, Tilmann Wick, Laurence Lesser, Young-Chang Cho, and Tamas Varga. Currently, he belongs to the artist such as the Cello Project, Soloist Vin, Cellista Ensemble in Korea.

He has won numerous renowned awards including 1st prize and Special prize by Instrument Hand-crafted by Luthier Vlado Tilev and Chamber music prize in the “Allegra String International Competition”, 1st prize at the ''10th Artsylvia Chamber music Audition 2021” with Piano Trio “Credo”, 3rd prize and Special prize by Johannes Kropfitsch for the best performance of the modern compulsory piece “Toccata” from the Cello Sonata by Johannes Kropfitsch in the “International Johannes Brahms Competition”, 3rd prize and Special prize in the “Salieri-Zinetti International Competition”, Johannes Brahms prize in the “Rubinstein International Competition”, 1st prize in the “The Music Association of Korea Competition”, 3rd prize in the “Joongang Music Concours”, and 1st prize in the “The Strad Competition”.

Since 2018, Jeongheon Nam has been studying at Mannheim University of Music and Performing Arts with István Várdai. And Since 2020 study at Robert Schumann hochschule Düsseldorf with Pieter Wispelwey.Jeongheon Nam plays on a cello made by Matteo Goffriller, which is loaned to him by the Landessammlung Streichinstrumente Baden – Württemberg. Currently, he studies in Karlsruhe Music Hochschule with Professor László Fenyö. 


Registered program for the 50th IJMC Belgrade:


A) J. S. Bach: Cello Suite No. 6 in D major, Prelude & Allemande
B) C. A. Piatti: Caprice for Solo Cello, op. 25, No. 6
C) P. Hindemith: Sonata for Solo Cello, op. 25, No. 3


A) J. Brahms: Cello Sonata No. 2, op. 99, F major
B) D. Popper: Hungarian Rhapsody op. 68
C) A. Vujić: ''Serbian Round Dance'' for Cello and Piano
D) N. Borenstein: Odysseus op. 87 for violoncello and piano


A) A. Dvorak: Cello Concerto in B minor, op. 104