Sunghyun Park

Sunghyun Park was born in 2006 in South Korea. She started playing cello at the age of 5 at JCC Thurnauer School of Music in NJ, USA. She enrolled at Yewon School in 2019 and currently, she is studying at the pre-college of Hochschule fur Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin with Prof. Troels Svane.

She has played numerous solo performances such as at the 37th Kumho Prodigy Concert in Seoul (2016), Winners’ Concert of Golden Classical Music Awards New York at Carnegie Weill Hall (2016), The House Concert at Yulhaus in Seoul (2016), Concert at Alpensia Hall of 2017 Pyeongchang Music Festival & School in Korea (2017), Concert hosted by Party for Unicef (2018), Concert of The international Summer Academy Ettal in Germany (2018), Final Concert of Cello Akademie Rutesheim with Sudwestdeutsches Kammerorchester in Germany (2018), Final Concert with Wratislavia Chamber Orchestra at 10th Summer Academy of Music in Uelzen (2019). 

Sunghyun participated in many masterclasses with famous names such as Kiril Rodin (Seoul, 2015), Suren Bagratuni (Seoul, 2015), Tilmann Wick (Seoul, 2016), Richard Aron (Julliard in New York, 2016), Alban Gerhardt (Seoul, 2017), Marcy Rosen (New Jersey, 2016 and 2018), Wen-Sinn Yang (Cello Akademie Rutesheim, 2018) and others.

She is a winner of many awards, among some: 1st place at the Strad Competition (Seoul, 2015), 1st place at the 34th Eunmyoun Music Competition (Seoul, 2015), 2nd place at the Golden Classical Music Awards New York (New York, 2016), a semi-finalist at the 24th International Johannes Brahms Competition (Austria, 2017) and others.


Registered program for the 50th IJMC Belgrade:


A) J. S. Bach: Cello Suite No. 6 in D major, Prelude & Sarabande
B) C. A. Piatti: Caprice for Solo Cello, op. 25, No. 7
C) G. Ligeti: Sonata for Solo Cello


A) D. Shostakovich: Sonata for Cello and Piano, op. 40, D minor
B) R. Schumann: Fantasiestücke, op. 73
C) A. Vujić: ''Serbian Round Dance'' for Cello and Piano
D) N. Borenstein: Odysseus op. 87 for violoncello and piano


A) A. Dvorak: Cello Concerto in B minor, op. 104